Surrogate Key Assignment

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

duh_sk8erboi
Participant

Surrogate Key Assignment

Post by duh_sk8erboi »

Hello to all DS gurus

I'm new to DS & ETL development, but i'm quickly catching up & learning so many wonderful things about DS. I have come across a new challange, surrogate key assignment. how can one generate a new surrogate key for a column which is the key column in a transformer, which i used to extract data from a complex flat file & attempting to load to a oracle table.

Thanks in Advance
Adrianna D
rafidwh
Participant

Post by rafidwh »

HI,

Use the DS transform function "KeyMgtGetNextValue" in the surrogate key column in the transformer.

Saik
duh_sk8erboi
Participant

Post by duh_sk8erboi »

wow... so fast!! thanks saik. ok, so i use that DS function, but how i make it generate a number? do i have to write additional code for this function to make it generate the sgt key?? please advice

Thanks in Advance
Adrianna D
rafidwh
Participant

Post by rafidwh »

Use the function in the surrogate key column in the derivation column

No need to write any code

Good luck :)
rasi
Participant

Post by rasi »

You need to pass in the unique name for which it gets the next surrogate key. The value is stored in hash file and you can always reset the value by updating the hash file
Regards
Siva

Listening to the Learned

"The most precious wealth is the wealth acquired by the ear Indeed, of all wealth that wealth is the crown." - Thirukural By Thiruvalluvar
ram.m
Participant

Re: Surrogate Key Assignment

Post by ram.m »

Hi,

by using KeyMgtGetNextval u can generate the sequence number in the transformer stage.

Thanks,
Ram
ram
duh_sk8erboi
Participant

Post by duh_sk8erboi »