Prism to DataStage

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

gdean
Participant

Prism to DataStage

Post by gdean »

Hi,

We have a warehouse that was designed earlier using Prism Warehouse Executive. We now want to move on to using DataStage for our warehouse design and maintenance. I would like to know if anyone has done this before.

What are the major issues that we should be aware of when doing this? I would really appreciate any tips for getting started with the process.

Thank you

/gd
tomengers
Participant

Post by tomengers »

gdean ...

I've got about 6 years of Prism experience so let me offer a few thoughts, bearing in mind there is no way to automate this:

1. Sometimes some very bad habits emerge if no one has been watching the store: do a diff between the COBOL code presently running in production and the code you generate today via the Prism tool. This will identify places where "speedy" people have upgraded the executing code and neglected to go back and tell Prism. :evil:
2. If you are using Code Blocks to call other programs, document this architecture.
3. If you are using Code Blocks for error messaging or validation, document this.
4. Document the logic in each of your business rules in the order they are executed.
5. Walk thru each Prism program looking for logic before file open and after file close.
6. Look for host variables in all front-end SQL.
7. Look for User-controlled writes to output files - these will become constraints.
8. Using DS Manager, import all COBOL copybooks.
9. Translate your Prism business rules into DS logic. This exercise may surprise you for, in some ways, Prism had a lot more logical functionality than DS has today.

That's all I can think of now ... I'll be giving this more thought and will come back if anything more of value surfaces.

... tom
lateshj
Participant

Post by lateshj »

Hi,