DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
admin
Site Admin



Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 8720

Points: 10

Post Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 10:12 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi All,

I was editing a job and suddenly the connection got
broken. Now I am not able to access the job in
designer - it gives the message "Job XXX is being
accessed by another user."

How do I reset this status. For info, I am am running
DS 4.2 on Win 2000.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

YN


__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games http://sports.yahoo.com
admin
Site Admin



Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 8720

Points: 10

Post Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 10:16 am Reply with quote    Back to top    


Thats happened with me as well. What we do is stop and start the server again (UNIX). Im not sure of the commands for 2000, but the manuals should have it.

Regards
Denzil

-----Original Message-----
From: YN [mailto:yn_ds@yahoo.com]
Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 12:13 PM
To: datastage-users@oliver.com
Subject: Job Locked... How to Reset??


Hi All,

I was editing a job and suddenly the connection got
broken. Now I am not able to access the job in
designer - it gives the message "Job XXX is being
accessed by another user."

How do I reset this status. For info, I am am running
DS 4.2 on Win 2000.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

YN


__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games http://sports.yahoo.com
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
admin
Site Admin



Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 8720

Points: 10

Post Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 10:21 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi
If You Know Job No (Internally, DataStage job has unique job no)

First Check Process with Job no.

You can see datastage directory menu ( Job --> Cleanup Resource) If this menus disable (check admin menu in ds administrator)

And
Second Check Lock or Process and release all Lock or Process related this job.


Then You can modify this job.

Or
If you possible to shutdown datastage server,
then just stop the service and restart, than automatically release lock


Have a nice day.
----- Original Message -----
From: "YN"
To:
Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 7:12 PM
Subject: Job Locked... How to Reset??


> Hi All,
>
> I was editing a job and suddenly the connection got
> broken. Now I am not able to access the job in
> designer - it gives the message "Job XXX is being
> accessed by another user."
>
> How do I reset this status. For info, I am am running
> DS 4.2 on Win 2000.
>
> Thanks in advance.
>
> Regards,
>
> YN
>
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games
> http://sports.yahoo.com
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
admin
Site Admin



Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 8720

Points: 10

Post Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 10:28 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi,

This is for Windows. Not sure abt any other OS.
1. Login as the Administrator into the DataStage Director.
2. Go to Job --> Cleanup Resources (this will take a few mins). 3. You should see a window which has two frames in it -
a. Click on the radio button - Show All in the top frame.
b. Look for your UserName.
c. Click on the PID#
d. Click on the radio button - Show by Process in the bottom frame. 4. Continue Step 3 until u see the job which got locked. This will be displayed in the bottom frame. 5. Click on the PID# and then click Release All

This should release your lock.

Regards,
A.


-----Original Message-----
From: YN
Sent: Mon 2/18/2002 3:42 PM
To: datastage-users@oliver.com
Cc:
Subject: Job Locked... How to Reset??

Hi All,

I was editing a job and suddenly the connection got
broken. Now I am not able to access the job in
designer - it gives the message "Job XXX is being
accessed by another user."

How do I reset this status. For info, I am am running
DS 4.2 on Win 2000.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

YN


__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games http://sports.yahoo.com



Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
admin
Site Admin



Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 8720

Points: 10

Post Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 10:54 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi Kim,

Thanks.. it worked. Now I do not need to restart the
DS Server!!

YN

--- DaeHwan Kim wrote:
> Hi
> If You Know Job No (Internally, DataStage job has
> unique job no)
>
> First Check Process with Job no.
>
> You can see datastage directory menu ( Job -->
> Cleanup Resource)
> If this menus disable (check admin menu in ds
> administrator)
>
> And
> Second Check Lock or Process and release all Lock or
> Process related this job.
>
>
> Then You can modify this job.
>
> Or
> If you possible to shutdown datastage server,
> then just stop the service and restart, than
> automatically release lock
>
>
> Have a nice day.
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "YN"
> To:
> Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 7:12 PM
> Subject: Job Locked... How to Reset??
>
>
> > Hi All,
> >
> > I was editing a job and suddenly the connection
> got
> > broken. Now I am not able to access the job in
> > designer - it gives the message "Job XXX is being
> > accessed by another user."
> >
> > How do I reset this status. For info, I am am
> running
> > DS 4.2 on Win 2000.
> >
> > Thanks in advance.
> >
> > Regards,
> >
> > YN
> >
> >
> > __________________________________________________
> > Do You Yahoo!?
> > Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games
> > http://sports.yahoo.com
>


__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games http://sports.yahoo.com
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
admin
Site Admin



Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 8720

Points: 10

Post Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 10:56 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Thanks Aedla for elaborating the steps...

Regards,

YN

--- Phaneender Aedla
wrote:
> Hi,
>
> This is for Windows. Not sure abt any other OS.
> 1. Login as the Administrator into the DataStage
> Director.
> 2. Go to Job --> Cleanup Resources (this will take a
> few mins).
> 3. You should see a window which has two frames in
> it -
> a. Click on the radio button - Show All in
> the top frame.
> b. Look for your UserName.
> c. Click on the PID#
> d. Click on the radio button - Show by
> Process in the bottom frame.
> 4. Continue Step 3 until u see the job which got
> locked. This will be
> displayed in the bottom frame.
> 5. Click on the PID# and then click Release All
>
> This should release your lock.
>
> Regards,
> A.
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: YN
> Sent: Mon 2/18/2002 3:42 PM
> To: datastage-users@oliver.com
> Cc:
> Subject: Job Locked... How to Reset??
>
> Hi All,
>
> I was editing a job and suddenly the connection got
> broken. Now I am not able to access the job in
> designer - it gives the message "Job XXX is being
> accessed by another user."
>
> How do I reset this status. For info, I am am
> running
> DS 4.2 on Win 2000.
>
> Thanks in advance.
>
> Regards,
>
> YN
>
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games
> http://sports.yahoo.com
>
>
>
>


__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games http://sports.yahoo.com
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
admin
Site Admin



Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 8720

Points: 10

Post Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 1:16 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

also within administrator there is a section that allows you to run universe commands. in there, you can type in: UNLOCK ALL
this will unlock the file / record locks datastage created within universe.

-----Original Message-----
From: DaeHwan Kim [mailto:whatcanido@lexken.co.kr]
Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 5:21 AM
To: datastage-users@oliver.com
Subject: Re: Job Locked... How to Reset??


Hi
If You Know Job No (Internally, DataStage job has unique job no)

First Check Process with Job no.

You can see datastage directory menu ( Job --> Cleanup Resource) If this menus disable (check admin menu in ds administrator)

And
Second Check Lock or Process and release all Lock or Process related this job.


Then You can modify this job.

Or
If you possible to shutdown datastage server,
then just stop the service and restart, than automatically release lock


Have a nice day.
----- Original Message -----
From: "YN"
To:
Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 7:12 PM
Subject: Job Locked... How to Reset??


> Hi All,
>
> I was editing a job and suddenly the connection got
> broken. Now I am not able to access the job in
> designer - it gives the message "Job XXX is being
> accessed by another user."
>
> How do I reset this status. For info, I am am running
> DS 4.2 on Win 2000.
>
> Thanks in advance.
>
> Regards,
>
> YN
>
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games
> http://sports.yahoo.com
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
admin
Site Admin



Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 8720

Points: 10

Post Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 1:29 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Under DataStage Director, on the menu, select jobs->cleanup resources, this will allow to view/release/logout process and locks for all jobs and users. In order to access this menu, you must enable "job administration in director" for projects within DataStage Administrator.

-----Original Message-----
From: Denzil Sander [mailto:DenzilS@mxgroup.co.za]
Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 5:17 AM
To: datastage-users@oliver.com
Subject: RE: Job Locked... How to Reset??


Thats happened with me as well. What we do is stop and start the server again (UNIX). Im not sure of the commands for 2000, but the manuals should have it.

Regards
Denzil

-----Original Message-----
From: YN [mailto:yn_ds@yahoo.com]
Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 12:13 PM
To: datastage-users@oliver.com
Subject: Job Locked... How to Reset??


Hi All,

I was editing a job and suddenly the connection got
broken. Now I am not able to access the job in
designer - it gives the message "Job XXX is being
accessed by another user."

How do I reset this status. For info, I am am running
DS 4.2 on Win 2000.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

YN


__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games http://sports.yahoo.com
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
admin
Site Admin



Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 8720

Points: 10

Post Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 3:56 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi World

Somebody has information about the Adminstrators commands¡¡???

Saludos

Miguel

----- Mensaje Original -----
De: Himanshu Patel
Fecha: Lunes, Febrero 18, 2002 8:16 am
Asunto: RE: Job Locked... How to Reset??

> also within administrator there is a section that allows you to
> run universe
> commands.
> in there, you can type in: UNLOCK ALL
> this will unlock the file / record locks datastage created within
> universe.
> -----Original Message-----
> From: DaeHwan Kim [mailto:whatcanido@lexken.co.kr]
> Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 5:21 AM
> To: datastage-users@oliver.com
> Subject: Re: Job Locked... How to Reset??
>
>
> Hi
> If You Know Job No (Internally, DataStage job has unique job no)
>
> First Check Process with Job no.
>
> You can see datastage directory menu ( Job --> Cleanup Resource) If
> this menus disable (check admin menu in ds administrator)
>
> And
> Second Check Lock or Process and release all Lock or Process
> related this
> job.
>
>
> Then You can modify this job.
>
> Or
> If you possible to shutdown datastage server,
> then just stop the service and restart, than automatically release
> lock
>
> Have a nice day.
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "YN"
> To:
> Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 7:12 PM
> Subject: Job Locked... How to Reset??
>
>
> > Hi All,
> >
> > I was editing a job and suddenly the connection got
> > broken. Now I am not able to access the job in
> > designer - it gives the message "Job XXX is being
> > accessed by another user."
> >
> > How do I reset this status. For info, I am am running
> > DS 4.2 on Win 2000.
> >
> > Thanks in advance.
> >
> > Regards,
> >
> > YN


--------------------------------------» » »
Consigue tu e-mail gratis en http://www.terra.com/mail/
Todo sobre música sólo en http://www.terra.com/musica/


Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
admin
Site Admin



Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 8720

Points: 10

Post Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 4:12 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

What info would you like to know ?

-----Original Message-----
From: datastagemig [mailto:datastagemig@terra.com]
Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 10:56 AM
To: datastage-users@oliver.com
Subject: Re: RE: Job Locked... How to Reset??


Hi World

Somebody has information about the Adminstrators commands¡¡???

Saludos

Miguel

----- Mensaje Original -----
De: Himanshu Patel
Fecha: Lunes, Febrero 18, 2002 8:16 am
Asunto: RE: Job Locked... How to Reset??

> also within administrator there is a section that allows you to
> run universe
> commands.
> in there, you can type in: UNLOCK ALL
> this will unlock the file / record locks datastage created within
> universe.
> -----Original Message-----
> From: DaeHwan Kim [mailto:whatcanido@lexken.co.kr]
> Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 5:21 AM
> To: datastage-users@oliver.com
> Subject: Re: Job Locked... How to Reset??
>
>
> Hi
> If You Know Job No (Internally, DataStage job has unique job no)
>
> First Check Process with Job no.
>
> You can see datastage directory menu ( Job --> Cleanup Resource) If
> this menus disable (check admin menu in ds administrator)
>
> And
> Second Check Lock or Process and release all Lock or Process
> related this
> job.
>
>
> Then You can modify this job.
>
> Or
> If you possible to shutdown datastage server,
> then just stop the service and restart, than automatically release
> lock
>
> Have a nice day.
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "YN"
> To:
> Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 7:12 PM
> Subject: Job Locked... How to Reset??
>
>
> > Hi All,
> >
> > I was editing a job and suddenly the connection got
> > broken. Now I am not able to access the job in
> > designer - it gives the message "Job XXX is being
> > accessed by another user."
> >
> > How do I reset this status. For info, I am am running
> > DS 4.2 on Win 2000.
> >
> > Thanks in advance.
> >
> > Regards,
> >
> > YN


--------------------------------------» » »
Consigue tu e-mail gratis en http://www.terra.com/mail/
Todo sobre música sólo en http://www.terra.com/musica/

Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
admin
Site Admin



Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 8720

Points: 10

Post Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2002 5:49 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi Miguel,

When you Start Administrator,
Select the Projects Tab.

The last Buttons is called COMMAND
When you click on this, you are at the Universe Command Line and can do pretty much anything.

Create new accounts
create users
log off users
clear locks
check the status on ports currently in use
run universe level programs etc......

Some examples
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
----------
ListU - Lists all users / processes currently logged on
Users - List all universe licenses currently in use
logout {port#} will log off a specific port that you will find from the ListU command Port.Status - will display what is happening on a specific port List.Readu - will display all current Read Locks Unlock All - release ALL locks

You can also log into a Telnet session of universe and create your own programs that datastage can then call as well.


For a list of commands, go the the IBM website and locate U2 documentation.

The universe documentation is fairly extensive and provides lots of information of things you can and cannot do. You should be able to download the PDF file off their website as well.

Check out the Multi-Value related websites and webrings. Lots of websites
that offerr hints and tips on universe commands, and programming.

Go to Google.com.
- select GROUPS
- select Comp.DataBases.Pick group.
- lots of helpfull hints and tips etc for all Pick and PIck flavor systems.




Good Luck
- Himanshu

============================================================================
==========




-----Original Message-----
From: datastagemig [mailto:datastagemig@terra.com]
Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 11:46 AM
To: Himanshu.Patel@globalknowledge.com
Subject: Re: RE: RE: Job Locked... How to Reset??


Hi Himansu,

I want to know all commands that i can use in administrator, i
developed in DS but i need to know more about this..

Gracias

Miguel

----- Mensaje Original -----
De: Himanshu Patel
Fecha: Lunes, Febrero 18, 2002 11:12 am
Asunto: RE: RE: Job Locked... How to Reset??

> What info would you like to know ?
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: datastagemig [mailto:datastagemig@terra.com]
> Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 10:56 AM
> To: datastage-users@oliver.com
> Subject: Re: RE: Job Locked... How to Reset??
>
>
> Hi World
>
> Somebody has information about the Adminstrators commands¡¡???
>
> Saludos
>
> Miguel
>
> ----- Mensaje Original -----
> De: Himanshu Patel
> Fecha: Lunes, Febrero 18, 2002 8:16 am
> Asunto: RE: Job Locked... How to Reset??
>
> > also within administrator there is a section that allows you to
> > run universe
> > commands.
> > in there, you can type in: UNLOCK ALL
> > this will unlock the file / record locks datastage created
> within
> > universe.
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: DaeHwan Kim [mailto:whatcanido@lexken.co.kr]
> > Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 5:21 AM
> > To: datastage-users@oliver.com
> > Subject: Re: Job Locked... How to Reset??
> >
> >
> > Hi
> > If You Know Job No (Internally, DataStage job has unique job no)
> >
> > First Check Process with Job no.
> >
> > You can see datastage directory menu ( Job --> Cleanup Resource) If
> > this menus disable (check admin menu in ds administrator)
> >
> > And
> > Second Check Lock or Process and release all Lock or Process
> > related this
> > job.
> >
> >
> > Then You can modify this job.
> >
> > Or
> > If you possible to shutdown datastage server,
> > then just stop the service and restart, than automatically
> release
> > lock
> >
> > Have a nice day.
> > ----- Original Message -----
> > From: "YN"
> > To:
> > Sent: Monday, February 18, 2002 7:12 PM
> > Subject: Job Locked... How to Reset??
> >
> >
> > > Hi All,
> > >
> > > I was editing a job and suddenly the connection got broken. Now I
> > > am not able to access the job in designer - it gives the message
> > > "Job XXX is being accessed by another user."
> > >
> > > How do I reset this status. For info, I am am running
> > > DS 4.2 on Win 2000.
> > >
> > > Thanks in advance.
> > >
> > > Regards,
> > >
> > > YN
>
>
> --------------------------------------» » »
> Consigue tu e-mail gratis en http://www.terra.com/mail/
> Todo sobre música sólo en http://www.terra.com/musica/
>
>

--------------------------------------» » »
Consigue tu e-mail gratis en http://www.terra.com/mail/
Todo sobre música sólo en http://www.terra.com/musica/

Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours