Can't read Variable Block Mainframe file

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

pradkumar
Charter Member
Charter Member

Can't read Variable Block Mainframe file

Post by pradkumar »

Hi All,

I am new to COBOL and I have been struggling for a week. I have a Variable Block file and 3 copybooks (header, detail and trailer) from our Mainframe guy. The record length in Mainframe shows 27840 bytes ( I guess it means maximum length for VB format). I created 3 COBOL FD by using the copybooks.

In CFF stage, I noticed the total length of all columns is 40 bytes for header, 930 for detail and 136 for trailer. I tried to configure CFF stage in many ways and I can't read the file.

File Options: Record Type - Variable/Variable Block
Record Options: Byte Order -Native-endian; Data format- binary ; Character set: EBCDIC.
Records ID: RECORD_TYPE='H'
RECORD_TYPE_2='D'
RECORD_TYPE_3='T'

Can anyone help me with this? Thanks in advance.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

Have you checked this FAQ?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
pradkumar
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by pradkumar »

Yes, Craig. I have read the FAQ and also searched in forum about Mainframe and COBOL before I posted this. Although I learned a lot from that, i still can't figure out my problem.

In FAQ, it says mainframe variable length data has the usual attributes: a field containing the actual length of the field or record followed by the data.

But the file doesn't have such a field.

Thanks for any help
Pradeep Kumar
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

pradkumar wrote:the file doesn't have such a field