DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
Ankur_Sinha
Participant



Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 9

Points: 75

Post Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 1:53 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 8x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Windows
Hi Experts..
I imported a SCD job in 8.5 from 8.1
Job Desc: Input datasets--->SCD stage-->Ouput Datasets.
Here,only 1 colmun in lkp dataset is decimal type as(decimal[38,0]) and rest are Varchar.That decimal column also contains negative value for some records.

On running the job in 8.5 it is throwing error as:

APT_CombinedOperatorController(1),0: Fatal Error: APT_Decimal::asIntegerU64: the decimal value is out of range for the integer result.

While this job is running fine in 8.1

Plz give some clue to fix this issue.
Thanx in advance...
ArndW

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup

Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 16257
Location: Germany
Points: 92175

Post Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:35 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

If you look at the error message it states that the problem is occuring while converting from APT_Decimal to IntegerU64. This is an unsigned big integer and I suspect you are forcing this conversion somewhere.
- Check the datatypes to ensure that you aren't forcing this conversion
- Turn off operator combination ($APT_DISABLE_COMBINATION to "true" in the job parameters) to determine exactly which stage is triggering the error.

_________________

Image
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Ankur_Sinha
Participant



Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 9

Points: 75

Post Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 5:08 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Thank you so much for your response..
I checked the datatype for that column,there is no such conversion and SCD stage is triggering the error as:
SCD_1,0: Fatal Error: APT_Decimal::asIntegerU64: the decimal value is out of range for the integer result.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ArndW

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup

Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 16257
Location: Germany
Points: 92175

Post Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 5:38 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

How is that column being used in your SCD stage?

_________________

Image
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Ankur_Sinha
Participant



Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 9

Points: 75

Post Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:08 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

That column is being used as a SURROGATE KEY in SCD stage
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ArndW

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup

Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 16257
Location: Germany
Points: 92175

Post Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:39 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Looks like you have hit on a limitation in the stage. Can you convert the decimal to a string prior to the SCD stage and see if that works?

_________________

Image
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Ravi.K
Participant



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 209
Location: Bangalore
Points: 1191

Post Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 2:45 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

What is the current value for Surrogate key.

_________________
Cheers
Ravi K
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Ankur_Sinha
Participant



Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 9

Points: 75

Post Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:31 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

ArndW wrote:
Looks like you have hit on a limitation in the stage. Can you convert the decimal to a string prior to the SCD stage and see if that works? ...


Ya..on converting the decimal column to integer or string ,it is working fine...
But i don't want to do any such conversion..because other jobs with similar conditions are working fine in 8.5.Plz suggest me why this issue is coming with this job in 8.5 as it is working fine in 8.1
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Ankur_Sinha
Participant



Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 9

Points: 75

Post Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:34 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Ravi.K wrote:
What is the current value for Surrogate key.

The current value for surrogate key is a positive number > 10
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ArndW

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup

Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 16257
Location: Germany
Points: 92175

Post Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:49 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

This is a case for your support provider, as the functionality does seem to have changed and you have a good test case/example for the problem. Unless support comes up with a solution, you will probably have to use a conversion to string or similar in any case.

_________________

Image
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours