DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
This topic has been marked "Resolved."
Author Message
fmou
Participant



Joined: 28 May 2011
Posts: 124

Points: 1164

Post Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:24 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 7x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Windows
Additional info: in transformer stage and others
Hi,

Am I right that in the transformer stage, all kinds of variables can be used in output columns derivations, including transformer's own stage variables, job parameters, and user variables from the job sequence?

How about updating the variables? Only the transformer's own stage variables can be updated?

Thanks
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 38896
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 198574

Post Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:53 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

"User variables" would need to be passed in as job parameters. You can't update job parameters, rather you use them in other derivations who's values can change.

_________________
-craig

ORA-03113: end-of-file on communication channel
Rate this response:  
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 51783
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 281157

Post Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 5:19 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

In short, you are not correct. Scope of User Variables is limited to the sequence itself; indeed only to activities directly downstream of the User Variables activity.

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
fmou
Participant



Joined: 28 May 2011
Posts: 124

Points: 1164

Post Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:18 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

[reusing the old thread to ask a related question]

How can I view/debug the actual value of the User Variables and job parameters?

Thanks
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 51783
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 281157

Post Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 2:32 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Job parameter values are reported into the job log. User variable values are not, but that doesn't matter if you've passed them as job parameters.

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours