DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
This topic has been marked "Resolved."
Author Message
Aquitaine
Participant



Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Location: Swindon, UK
Points: 169

Post Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 8:22 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 7x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Windows
Additional info: Datastage Designer Tool 7.5.3
I am not sure if this issue has been raised before, but I don't know where to start in explaining it, let alone looking for it in the millions of postings that have already been submitted.

For a period of time now, i have noticed that a number of the "popup" windows that result in an action taken in Datastage designer, apear to be either hidden or don't show at all.

i.e. If in a sequence, i try to open a Routine Activity transform, the main design window title bar goes grey (i.e. inactive window) but the properties "popup" window for the Routine Activity transform is nowhere to be seen Confused

The only thing I can do is press Alt+F4 to "close" the missing window, for control to revert to the main designer window. Therefore trying to modify any existing jobs with Routine Activities in, is not an option, nor is designing new ones!

This is totally confusing! If anyone has any ideas as to the cause or resolution of this I would be most greatful. The same thing happens when I try to compile a job. the "popup" compile window is also missing/hidden!

Many thanks
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 39270
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 200571

Post Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 9:04 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

This is usually a registry issue where there are invalid values for the window positions. Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the client? You may need to use regedit to remove any DataStage remnants before the reinstall.

Another thought is to simply delete the Designer branch from the registry (after saving it first, of course), the next time you start it it will replace them with default values.

_________________
-craig

If you try and take a cat apart to see how it works, the first thing you have on your hands is a non-working cat. -- Douglas Adams
Rate this response:  
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 39270
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 200571

Post Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 9:30 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

For the record, here's the fix:

Aquitaine wrote:
I would just like to thank you for your posting to my "popup" window issue!

I went through the registry and identified the entries that were in error and removed them! now it appears that all the popup windows that were missing are now back!

Many thanks for your help.

_________________
-craig

If you try and take a cat apart to see how it works, the first thing you have on your hands is a non-working cat. -- Douglas Adams
Rate this response:  
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours