DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
jpraveen
Participant



Joined: 06 Jun 2009
Posts: 64
Location: CHN
Points: 668

Post Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:42 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 7x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Windows
Additional info: source type "int32" to result type "int16"
Hi

Length precosion
source1 column
HOSP_NUM int 4 10


source2 column
PRVDR_FAC smallint 2 5




Target column
PRVDR_FAC smallint 2 5


I am using Lookup on 2 source columns (HOSP_NUM,PRVDR_FAC) and these are different types(int,smallint) and target is(PRVDR_FAC-smallint )
i am getting the error

Quote:
When binding output interface field "HOSP_NUM" to field "HOSP_NUM": Implicit conversion from source type "int32" to result type "int16": Possible range limitation.


i had changed the Lenghts in between the stages but it's not working.

_________________
Jaypee
ArndW

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup

Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 15948
Location: Germany
Points: 90213

Post Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 8:20 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

If you add $OSH_PRINT_SCHEMAS = true to your job parameters you can see the actual schema used between your stages. You are converting HOSP_NUM to a datatype with less possible value and thus you are getting the warning message. The best solution is to explicitly convert the data to the same types in your job to avoid this message.

_________________

Image
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
FranklinE



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 25 Nov 2008
Posts: 427
Location: Malvern, PA
Points: 3912

Post Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:19 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

ArndW wrote:
If you add $OSH_PRINT_SCHEMAS = true to your job parameters you can see the actual schema used between your stages. You are converting HOSP_NUM to a datatype with less possible value and thus you are getting the warning message. The best solution is to explicitly convert the data to the same types in your job to avoid this message.


A request for a more general discussion of the fact that the only place in Designer that one can code explicit conversions is the Transformer stage. When I see suggestions like yours, my first reaction is to shudder at the thought that some jobs will be full of Transformers just to avoid warning messages. Confused

_________________
Franklin Evans
"Shared pain is lessened, shared joy increased. Thus do we refute entropy." -- Spider Robinson
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 52036
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 282486

Post Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:03 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Of course this alert will be generated. You have an int (that is, int32) in source1 and you're specifying that it should be transferred to a smallint (that is, int16) in the target. It's got nothing ...

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
jpraveen
Participant



Joined: 06 Jun 2009
Posts: 64
Location: CHN
Points: 668

Post Posted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 1:38 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

HI all

so i need to change the Datatype by using Modify stage or is there any other option.

_________________
Jaypee
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 52036
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 282486

Post Posted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:51 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Transformer stage.
Copy stage. (You will still get the warning.)
Modifying the source metadata.

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours