How to use dsexport.exe in batch without export status box?

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
yogi_yogesh
Participant
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 1:13 pm

How to use dsexport.exe in batch without export status box?

Post by yogi_yogesh »

I need to export individual jobs using a batch script into individual dsx files.

I can use dscmdexport.exe to export the whole project in one dsx, not individual job dsx:
usage: dscmdexport [/H][/U][/P][/O] project filepath [/V]
/H Host name.
/U User name.
/P Password.
/O Omit flag.
project Specifies the project name.
filepath Specifies the export file name.
/V Verbose. Default to false.

I can use dsexport.exe for individual dsx using the following options in the batch script:
%DSPath%\dsexport.exe /H=%Host% /U=%User% /P=%Password% %Project% /job=%JobName% %JobName%.dsx

However, when export starts, it pops up the Export status box on top of all windows.

1. Is there any way to get the batch complete quietely?
2. Can dscmdexport.exe be somehow used to export individual job dsx?

Thanks in advance.
Raghavendra
Participant
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 1:23 am
Location: Bangalore,India

Post by Raghavendra »

You can export the whole project as a single dsx file and then run some scripts to parse the file and create one dsx file per job.

For more information refer the following link

viewtopic.php?t=113429
Raghavendra
Dare to dream and care to achieve ...
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Investigate using the START command with /MIN switch. I don't know if this will work, as I've never done it.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
yogi_yogesh
Participant
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 1:13 pm

Post by yogi_yogesh »

ray.wurlod wrote:Investigate using the START command with /MIN switch. I don't know if this will work, as I've never done it. ...
Where do I use the START command?
My command is:
%DSPath%\dsexport.exe /H=%Host% /U=%User% /P=%Password% %Project% /job=%JobName% %JobName%.dsx
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

At the beginning of your command string. Open a "cmd" window and type "start /?" to get the DOS help information.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply