DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
srividya
Participant



Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Location: Ashburn,VA
Points: 579

Post Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:48 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 7x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
Hi

We have got a strange issue on one of our DataStage environments

We have got a team at offshore which can not access DataStage from their boxes. They can access the UNIX box on which the DataStage is installed, the DataBase ...everything on that box except for DataStage.

I am working in a different location then that team ...and i can connect to the datastage without any issues.

Can anyone shed some light on why this can happen

Tried search .. but was not successful Sad . Please give me the link if there was a discussion on this before.. would appreciate it

Thanks a lot
Srividya
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54582
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 295988

Post Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:51 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

How is this connection established? Is it a client directly on the offshore machine, or using Citrix or some other tunnelling protocol?

_________________
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
dsusr



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 03 Sep 2005
Posts: 104

Points: 887

Post Posted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:36 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Provide some more information like

What is the error your offshore team is getting while trying to login on DataStage ?
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54582
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 295988

Post Posted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 3:07 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Where is "offshore" from Hyderabad?

_________________
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
vmcburney

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup

Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 3593
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Points: 28136

Post Posted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 5:52 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Have they got the DataStage server in their hosts file? Can they ping it? Have they tried the server name and the IP address? Are they using the right user name and password? Have they got the rig ...

_________________
Certus Solutions
Blog: Tooling Around in the InfoSphere
Twitter: @vmcburney
LinkedIn: Vincent McBurney LinkedIn
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
srividya
Participant



Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Location: Ashburn,VA
Points: 579

Post Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:56 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi all ...

Thanks for the response

The error we get is "Failed to connect to Host", the same one we get when a wrong password or server name is given. They are right and the same can be used to connect from Onsite

We connect to the environment using a citrix connection. The client is installed in our local machines, but the ports that connect to the server machines are opened only when we have a citrix connection established.

Yea ...and the offhore team is in hyderabad ...

Thanks
Srividya
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
flashgordon



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 99
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Points: 1188

Post Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:03 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi,

Shot in the dark but I have seen this happen many times. Datastage can only accept an 8 digit password. Unix will accept greater than an 8 digit password. Your putty sessions are gold but you can't login with Datastage. You have to change the password to 8 characters or less.

... Flash

_________________
Flash Gordon
Hyperborean Software Solution
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54582
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 295988

Post Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:27 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

I'm currenly successfully using a twelve character password over Citrix (DataStage 7.5.1).

_________________
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
vmcburney

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup

Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 3593
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Points: 28136

Post Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 8:28 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

The DataStage connectivity happens between the citrix machine and the DataStage server. The only thing being passed between the user and Citrix is screen images. Are you connecting yourself directly ...

_________________
Certus Solutions
Blog: Tooling Around in the InfoSphere
Twitter: @vmcburney
LinkedIn: Vincent McBurney LinkedIn
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
flashgordon



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 99
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Points: 1188

Post Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 8:52 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Ray,

You must have run into that password thing before. What am I thinking of? There was definitely some password that Datastage <=7.x didn't like being more than 8 characters. Maybe I'm thinking of Oracle passwords. I know there were some characters in Oracle passwords that weren't allowed by Datastage.

... Tom

_________________
Flash Gordon
Hyperborean Software Solution
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours