Pin 2 not initialised error

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
roshanearly
Participant
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:55 am
Location: bangalore

Pin 2 not initialised error

Post by roshanearly »

Problem description
1) We are having a sample job which will read from sequential file and
insert a row to database(using DB2 connector stage). This database is a
remote database. When we are running the job using dsjob command it is
failing with error "PIN2 not initialized". PIN2 is DB2Connector stage
in our job.

We are using AIX6.1 server and trying to deploy over VPN

log:-
Event Id: 70
Time : Sat Oct 13 05:02:39 2012
Type : WARNING
User : root
Message :
DBFILEDEPLOY..DB2_Connector_6.IDENT1: Pin 2 not initialized
Event Id: 71
Time : Sat Oct 13 05:02:39 2012
Type : WARNING
User : root
Message :
DBFILEDEPLOY..DB2_Connector_6: Pin 2 not initialized
Event Id: 72
Time : Sat Oct 13 05:02:39 2012
Type : WARNING
User : root
Message :
DBFILEDEPLOY..DB2_Connector_6.DSLink2: DSP.Close Error -100 in
$DSP.Close.

our dsenv file config is-
DB2DIR=/opt/IBM/db2/V9.7;export DB2DIR
DB2INSTANCE=db2inst1;export DB2INSTANCE
INSTHOME=/home/db2inst1;export INSTHOME
DB2PATH=/opt/IBM/db2/V9.7/bin
export DB2PATH
PATH=$PATH:$INSTHOME/sqllib/bin:$INSTHOME/sqllib/adm:$INSTHOME/sqllib/misc
export PATH
LIBPATH=`dirname $DSHOME`/branded_odbc/lib:`dirname $DSHOME`/DSComponents/lib:`dirname $DSHOME`/DSComponents/bin:$DSHOME/lib:$DSHOME/uvdlls:`dirname $DSHOME`/PXEngine/lib:$ASBHOME/apps/jre/lib/ppc64:$ASBHOME/apps/jre/lib/ppc64/j9vm:$ASBHOME/lib/cpp:$ASBHOME/apps/proxy/cpp/aix-all-ppc_64:$DB2PATH:$INSTHOME/sqllib/lib:$DB2INSTANCE:$DB2DIR:$INSTHOME:$PATH:$LIBPATH
export LIBPATH
THREADS_FLAG=native;export THREADS_FLAG
ROSHAN
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Pin 2 not initialised error

Post by chulett »

roshanearly wrote:When we are running the job using dsjob command it is failing with error "PIN2 not initialized".
Question - does this imply that you do not get the error if you run the job from the Director? :?

Regardless - "IDENT1" is a transformer that the compiler added to your job between your two passive stages, which I'm guessing is all your job contains. I've found that odd problems like this can often be solved by simply adding the transformer yourself, even if all it does it pass along all columns unmolested.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
roshanearly
Participant
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:55 am
Location: bangalore

Re: Pin 2 not initialised error

Post by roshanearly »

chulett wrote:Question - does this imply that you do not get the error if you run the job from the Director? :?
No we are unable to open the director so we can't see what's hapenning over there

while trying to open director i am getting error"request time out:810015"
ROSHAN
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

OK, that's a conversation for another post.

Did you try adding a Transformer?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
roshanearly
Participant
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:55 am
Location: bangalore

Post by roshanearly »

Yes we tried but no luck...still getting "pin 2 not initialized error"
ROSHAN
roshanearly
Participant
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:55 am
Location: bangalore

Post by roshanearly »

we are able to run the same job on windows server but unable to do so on aix server
ROSHAN
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

Are you still seeing the word "IDENT1" in your job with a transform stage?
roshanearly
Participant
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:55 am
Location: bangalore

Post by roshanearly »

Nop instead of IDENT1 we are getting "TRANSFORMER STAGE1:Pin 2 not initialized"
ROSHAN
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

How many links connect to the Transformer stage and what function does each perform (for example stream input, reference input, stream output, reject output)?

A "pin" is a connection between a link and a stage. Pins are numbered from zero, so the problem is likely to be in the third link that was attached to the stage during the design process. Have you, for example, specified an output link variable for a link that no longer exists in the design? Was there perhaps a third link that no longer exists in the design?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

roshanearly wrote:Nop instead of IDENT1 we are getting "TRANSFORMER STAGE1:Pin 2 not initialized"
Which is to be expected if this didn't solve the problem as now the transformer has a name. Odd that it didn't change at all as it seems like you would need to drop and re-establish all of the links between the source and target in order to do that. :?

As Ray asked, can you detail the links in your job? Verify for us what exactly your job looks like now so we can attempt to determine the "third link" that is your Pin 2.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
roshanearly
Participant
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:55 am
Location: bangalore

Post by roshanearly »

Actually the problem is that we are able to run the same job in our production environment(windows server)we are not able to run any job involving db2 connection the problem is with db2 connection please guide us how to solve this connection issue with db2.We tried to make a new job and re import it too but its still showing the same thing we tried db2-udb and db2-api both all are having same.
ROSHAN
roshanearly
Participant
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:55 am
Location: bangalore

Post by roshanearly »

First link is sequential file>>>second link is transformer where column is mapped>>>Third link is Db2udb tried Db2api too....

Another job i tired is
Sequential file >>>Db2

third job i tired is
db2>>Sequential file

all are showing pin not initialized error for db2
ROSHAN
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

do you also get the error if you write a new job - i.e. no cut-and-paste or save-as from the old job?

If yes, then you have a problem which most likely cannot be solved here in this forum but needs to be addressed by your support provider. On the positive side, you would seem to have a reproduceable test case.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

With this additional information, I'm going to agree with Arnd that you need to put this in front of your official support provider.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply