RTI introduction

Dedicated to DataStage and DataStage TX editions featuring IBM<sup>®</sup> Service-Oriented Architectures.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm

pravin1581
Premium Member
Premium Member

RTI introduction

Post by pravin1581 »

Hi All,

I am new to DataStage SOA,i have been assigned with a responsibility of camparing SOA with PX, but as the software is not available i am not able to acces any online help. Basically i am interested in knowing how does SOA fit in RTI and how can we incorporate RTI features in Px as well as server jobs. In what way it scores over the PX jobs , i mean in what circumstances should we opt for SOA. Please help me out.

Thanks in advance.
eostic
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by eostic »

This is a length topic....but we can certainly get started. First, there is no "comparison" between EE and RTI jobs.... ...both Server jobs and EE jobs can be exposed as Services via RTI. They both support the RTI and WISD (8.x) Stage types, and each supports the main job topologies for RTI/WISD (pure batch, kicked off via web services, request/response with an "always on" job, or response only where a job is started, perhaps receiving job parameter input, but sends it's output back to the waiting SOAP client). Sites that do everything with EE, and have some great transformation/join/etc. logic in their EE jobs and want to expose them as Services can just expose their EE jobs. The same is true for sites that have Server. Once in awhile there are reasons to use only Server or only EE with RTI, but that has more to do with the Stage types in EE or Server than it does RTI. Mostly I would choose EE or Server for an RTI job because that is either (a) where a particular developer's expertise is with DataStage or (b) because the job is already written and I want to get maximum re-use of existing DataStage investment.

Ernie
pravin1581
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by pravin1581 »