DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
ArndW

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup

Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 16318
Location: Germany
Points: 92566

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:42 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

In the past 2 days I've been going through threads and at some point during the session I get the login screen when clicking on a link; it seems my session has not only been lost but when I close the explorer window and re-open it to DSXchange it has forgotten my password. This has happened to me on differents PCs (both at home and at work). Has this happened to anyone else recently?

_________________

Image
kduke

Premium Poster


since February 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: Dallas, TX
Points: 35013

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:52 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

It happens to me a lot. I thought it was my fault.

_________________
Mamu Kim
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
sjhouse



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 43
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Points: 311

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:58 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

It happens to me every day. In fact, my first reponse to this went to the login screen. I reported this to Walter in December, but the issue is still unresolved. I haven't had a lot of time to follow up on it.

Stephen
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
DSguru2B

Premium Poster


since February 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Heartland Usergroup

Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 6854
Location: Houston, TX
Points: 35675

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:13 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

I noticed that behaviour only yesterday. So far its fine.

_________________
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 43045
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 222248

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:20 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

I haven't seen this. When you say 'clicking on a link' do you mean the normal navigation links for the site, or links people have posted inside threads? Confused

If the latter, I've only seen that when someone is connected to 'dsxchange.com' rather than 'www.dsxchange.com' and they post a link without the 'www'. I 'hover' over a link now first to check and, if missing, copy the shortcut and add it back in myself, instead of clicking.

_________________
-craig

"May the bridges I burn light my way forward"
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ArndW

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup

Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 16318
Location: Germany
Points: 92566

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:35 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

No, it is normal navigational links; i.e. when I have the list of new posts and click on one to view it. Even though I've just looked at a previous one, I'll get the login screen again. If I close the window, reopen it at the top level then my login cookie is also gone and I need to re-enter the userid/password. Has happened 5 times now so it really isn't a frequent error.

_________________

Image
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
I_Server_Whale



Group memberships:
Premium Members, Heartland Usergroup

Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 1255
Location: United States of America
Points: 10549

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:14 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

ArndW wrote:
No, it is normal navigational links; i.e. when I have the list of new posts and click on one to view it. Even though I've just looked at a previous one, I'll get the login screen again. If I close the window, reopen it at the top level then my login cookie is also gone and I need to re-enter the userid/password. Has happened 5 times now so it really isn't a frequent error.
Happened with me as well, but only yesterday (02/01/2007). It's fine now.

_________________
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
narasimha


since February 2010

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Heartland Usergroup

Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Posts: 1236
Location: Staten Island, NY
Points: 6560

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:27 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

This happens to me only if I have logged into DSXchange and I initiate a remote connection to another computer.
Otherwise I do not face any problems.
Yes another thing which everybody know already is that you get logged off if you don't do any activity for a while.

_________________
Narasimha Kade

Finding answers is simple, all you need to do is come up with the correct questions.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54549
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 295797

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:40 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

I am beginning to see this more frequently. It used to be as narashima suggests only when surfing away from the site - even when following a link - but now it's in the middle of working through the postings.

From here it is many hops to the server, so I thought it may have been my network. Now I'm less convinced of that.

Is everyone using IE? Does the problem occur with one of the other browsers?

_________________
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
DSguru2B

Premium Poster


since February 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Heartland Usergroup

Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 6854
Location: Houston, TX
Points: 35675

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:42 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

I am using IE. So far so good. I only experienced it yesterday.

_________________
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
I_Server_Whale



Group memberships:
Premium Members, Heartland Usergroup

Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 1255
Location: United States of America
Points: 10549

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:56 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DSguru2B wrote:
I am using IE. So far so good. I only experienced it yesterday.
Same here.

_________________
Anything that won't sell, I don't want to invent. Its sale is proof of utility, and utility is success.
Author: Thomas A. Edison 1847-1931, American Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of GE
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 43045
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 222248

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:03 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

IE 6, work and home, have not seen the issue that I recall.

_________________
-craig

"May the bridges I burn light my way forward"
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54549
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 295797

Post Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:34 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Walter hates IE passionately, and uses only Firefox. So Walter may not be seeing the issue.

_________________
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54549
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 295797

Post Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 2:45 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

More information.

I get reliably asked to login again when I choose Search from one of the forums, then choose a topic from the search results.

If I use the browser's Back button to return to the point from where I chose Search, I find that I am not logged out, and can continue as previously.

It seems to regard "Search" as an attempt to surf away from the site.

My workaround is to use a second browser window to perform searches.

_________________
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 43045
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 222248

Post Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 5:38 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Odd.. I don't see this issue at all, even when emulating Ray's method which actually is something I do fairly frequently. The only time I see it is when switching 'domains' - from 'www.dsxchange.com' to 'dsxchange.com' (or vice versa, technically) - they seem to require separate logins.

If you are using IE, have you upgraded to the IE 7 release? I, for the moment, purposefully have not.

_________________
-craig

"May the bridges I burn light my way forward"
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours