Object Variable or with variable not set

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
poorna_76
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:42 am

Object Variable or with variable not set

Post by poorna_76 »

Hi,

When we working with DataStage Designer, we were popedup with the following messages in sequence:

----------------------
DataStage Repository Interface (Message Header on the Message Box)
Run-time error '91':
Object variable or With block variable not set
---------------------------
vmdsstge (Message Header on the Message Box)
Run-time error '440':
Automation error
------------------

The Other day i got the following message,when working with the DataStage Designer.
----------------------------
DSDesign.exe-Application Error (Message Header on the Message Box)
The instruction at "0x73dd1c65" referrenced memory at "0x00000000". The memory could not be read. Click on OK to Terminate to terminate the program.


This is happening to every developer in the team,
atleast once a day or once in two days.

Once we close the Designer and restart , its working.

Can any body please tell us , why this is happening.
roy
Participant
Posts: 2598
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 2:05 am
Location: Israel

Post by roy »

Hi,
here is my 2 cent worth:
AFAIK (from expiriance alone), things like this may happen sometimes, even working 2 fast in some grids like agg stage may crash the designer or force you to have to close and reopen it.

as for the exact error codes you get I think you need to contact your support.

has anything changed in your clients? like a remote install/upgrade of some thing? (like a security patch or something similar)

you might want to try reinstalling on 1 machine and see if this king of crash goes away on that machine (clean install always prefered if possible).

Do Post a follow up to this post if you get more insight on this.
Roy R.
Time is money but when you don't have money time is all you can afford.

Search before posting:)

Join the DataStagers team effort at:
http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org
Image
poorna_76
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:42 am

Post by poorna_76 »

Thanks Roy.

Nothing has been changed recently. We haven't done any of installations.

As you said, yes,
its hapenning mostly when working with Aggregator and Pivot Stages.

We opened up a support case, haven't heard anything yet from Ascentail.
vmcburney
Participant
Posts: 3593
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 5:25 pm
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Contact:

Post by vmcburney »

Are you on 7.0 or 7.1? I had a lot of problems with 7.0 and run-time and automation errors when I opened a DataStage properties form and clicked on a grid. Seemed to happen when I clicked quickly as the form was still opening or on an odd part of the grid. There may be a patch for it by now.
poorna_76
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:42 am

Object variable or with variable not set

Post by poorna_76 »

We are on 7.1

We are getting lot of problems.

Sometimes we get OLE Error.

We really don't know why these Errors are popedup and crashes the Designer.

Thanks
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

DataStage clients use OLE (object linking and embedding) to access objects exposed in a number of OLE servers, among them dsobjects.dll.

In order to understand this mechanism, and the errors it can generate, you really do need to have studied some form of Windows programming using OLE.

The bad news is that, because you didn't write it, you can't fix it when it happens. It suggests either that there is a path through the code in which some object's name hasn't been set in a With block or somewhere else where an object's name is required.

About all you can do is establish another instance of your connection to the OLE server, by closing DataStage clients and re-connecting.

And report it to your support provider, preferably with a reproducible case.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
oracledba
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:21 am

Re: Object Variable or with variable not set

Post by oracledba »

I will give you a fix for this

Go to registry editor

Start -Run
type regedit

Go inside the folder hierarchy like this
HKEY_CURRENT_USER
Software
IBM
Datstage Client


Now you will see a folder with numbering like this
818ac65d-76a7-4790-affb-8a9a20dad86c

Right click on it and Click Rename
Add .bak to the end of the folder name


Like this
818ac65d-76a7-4790-affb-8a9a20dad86c.bak


After this go back to designer, open your job, open the transformer and you shouldnt see the automation error



8)
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

The last post on this subject was 7 years ago and refers to a really old version of DataStage - hopefully this bug was fixed but perhaps the suggested solution might apply to this problem should it occur in a new version.
oracledba
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:21 am

Post by oracledba »

You would think this bug was fixed right? well im using 8.5 and I had the same problem a couple of weeks back. I used this to fix it
8)
adams06
Participant
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:00 pm

Post by adams06 »

I cannot find the folder, By the way why we should edit that file only. Pls educate
oracledba
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:21 am

Reply

Post by oracledba »

adams06 wrote:I cannot find the folder, By the way why we should edit that file only. Pls educate
You cannot find what folder? Tell me until which folder you are able to go to and I will help you from there.

I am asking you to look for a folder similar to that with numbers and letters
kishore122
Participant
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:15 pm

Re: Object Variable or with variable not set

Post by kishore122 »

oracledba wrote:I will give you a fix for this
Thanks a lot, this fixed my issue.
Post Reply