DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
This topic has been marked "Resolved."
Author Message
horserider
Participant



Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 71

Points: 878

Post Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:44 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 7x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
My DataStage Job works fine when I read from an DB2 source and having the password hardcoded. When I call the same job via a sequence and passing password through the sequencer the same JOB ABORTS.

Eample: I defined a parameter in Sequence called db2password. I also defined the same parameter in my JOB as well. When calling JOB from Sequence I password db2password=db2password. So JOB should be getting the password from Sequence. In the DB2 Stage I enter #db2password# in password input.

When I hardcode the password the ETL works but I use #db2password# ETL breaks. Error is below

[IBM][CLI Driver] SQL30082N Security processing failed with reason "24" ("USERNAME AND/OR PASSWORD INVALID"). SQLSTATE=08001
Unable to connect to DB2 server 'DBCOMPDATA'.


I tried to peek the password being passed to Job and it is proper. What baffles me is what could be the issue when it is passed properly to JOB via Sequence?

Any ideas?
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 43085
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 222463

Post Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:43 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Does the job work with the password parameter if you don't call it from a Sequence but just run it from the Director?

_________________
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
andrewn



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 14
Location: UK
Points: 176

Post Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 2:31 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

If you set the OSH_ECHO environment variable to true you will get a message in the Director log that shows the Orchestrate script for your parallel job.

The password for your DB2 stages will appear as plain text (at least it does for me), which might help work out what is being passed when the job is called from a sequence.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
horserider
Participant



Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 71

Points: 878

Post Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:10 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Ok here is what I have found so far. The job works fine in DEV/TEST environment. Encrypted DB2 password is passed from Master Sequence to Another Sequence and then to JOB and it works fine. It's only in PROD that we have issues with the password parameter.

I debugged it further and changed password parameter to STRING in all 2 Sequence and 1 Job and still job aborts. Hardcoding works though.

I am calling the Master Sequence through a shell script using below script. When I hard code the password the job works

bin/dsjob -run -mode NORMAL \
-param 'db2id'=$db2id
-param 'db2pass'='blackdog918' \

But when I pass the encrypted password it aborts (although works in DEV/TEST)

bin/dsjob -run -mode NORMAL \
-param 'db2id'=$db2id
-param 'db2pass'=$db2password \


So that means something is happening with the password file on UNIX box that I am using to pass but strangely when I view the file the password looks perfect!!!
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
shamshad



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 147
Location: Detroit,MI
Points: 1383

Post Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 11:16 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Since you are mentioning that when hardcoding from UNIX works, I bet you it's the password file or the parameter file that you have created for DB2 password. Even though the password looks fine, it might not be !!!

I suggest delete the parameter file/ password file and then run your Shell Script with password file (remove the hardcoded password). I am almost positive it will work.

Good Luck !

_________________
Datawarehouse Consultant
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
horserider
Participant



Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 71

Points: 878

Post Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 4:07 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Shamshad,

Thanks for great input. We just removed the password file and recreated the file and there you go....Jobs in production ran exactly as in QA.

Thank You All once again.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
prasanna_anbu
Participant



Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 42

Points: 319

Post Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 11:33 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

horserider wrote:
Shamshad,

Thanks for great input. We just removed the password file and recreated the file and there you go....Jobs in production ran exactly as in QA.

Thank You All once again.


I have faced the same problem, could you please explain me what is the password file? since i have to ask my administrator to recreate I need this information.

Thanks
Prasanna.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
shamshad



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 147
Location: Detroit,MI
Points: 1383

Post Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:36 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Password file is just a plain text file that contains the password. It is stored on the ETL Server. If Datastage has access to a particular directory you can create it yourself.

_________________
Datawarehouse Consultant
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
synsog



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 232
Location: Pune
Points: 2274

Post Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 1:02 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

prasanna_anbu wrote:
horserider wrote:
Shamshad,

Thanks for great input. We just removed the password file and recreated the file and there you go....Jobs in production ran exactly as in QA.

Thank You All once again.


I have faced the same problem, could you please explain me what is the password file? since i have to ask my administrator to recreate I need this information.

Thanks
Prasanna.


Hi,

Rather of usinf Password file i would recommend to correct the password from Administrator through Password parameter.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours