Limiting rows in parallel job

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
swathi Singamareddygari
Participant
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:09 am
Location: Bangalore

Limiting rows in parallel job

Post by swathi Singamareddygari »

Hi all,

I am running a parallel job and i am getting around 22000 rows from source.For testing purpose i want to limit the rows for which the job has to run.

The row limit option ,while runing the job in director is applicable only for server jobs.

can any one please help me in this one.

Thanks &Regards

Swathi S
Thanks&Regards
S.Swathi
nani0907
Participant
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:30 am

Post by nani0907 »

In transformer we can give constraints @inrownum<=10 for testing and after remove the constaints once testing is completed.
thanks n regards
nani
sharantheboss
Participant
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 12:57 am
Location: INDIA

Re: Limiting rows in parllel job

Post by sharantheboss »

Hi Swati,

If source is flat file then resctrict records by sampling the records using cat commond.If it is a table edit source query like Fetch first 10 records. we dont ahve any option for PX jobs!.

Regards
BOSS :lol:
DS Info
DSDexter
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:36 pm
Location: Pune,India

Re: Limiting rows in parllel job

Post by DSDexter »

Please re-check. The row limit tab is present for PX jobs also.
Thanks
DSDexter
dsusr
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:30 pm

Re: Limiting rows in parllel job

Post by dsusr »

Compile the Job in Trace Mode i.e. go to the Job Properties -- Execution Tab and enable the box Compile in Trace mode. Then you can limit the number of records per link for a partition.

Regards,
dsusr
edison
Participant
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 4:28 pm

use filter

Post by edison »

awk -F',' '{if(NR>=9){print $0}}',if it a seq file filter the rows by using command
Nokia8800
Post Reply