Setting No in Nullable Column

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
Prashantoncyber
Participant
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 7:15 am

Setting No in Nullable Column

Post by Prashantoncyber »

Hi All,

I getting following warning

Sequential_File_3: When checking operator: When validating export schema: At field "Time": Exporting nullable field without null handling properties

when Nullable Column is set Yes.

However, this warning goes off when when I change Nullable from yes to No.

I am wondering what happen when there is passes of Null value in that column as it has been set to not Null?

thanks
Prashant
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

They will be rejected, if you have a reject stream.
Prashantoncyber
Participant
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 7:15 am

Post by Prashantoncyber »

Srinivas

wht if i want to pass those values also with out rejecting.....then ?


Thanks

Prashant
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

You need to apply functions / transformations such as handle_null.
Prashantoncyber
Participant
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 7:15 am

Post by Prashantoncyber »

srinath,

But we wont get Null in the Target If we apply the some handle_null tranfermations/derivatives .

As we want Null in the target with no warnings at all.

Thanks

Prashant
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

If you want nulls in a sequential file column then set that column's definition to "nullable yes" and in the sequential file format set the "null field value" attribute to \000
gh_amitava
Participant
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 4:14 am
Location: California
Contact:

Post by gh_amitava »

Hi,

You have to handle null by using different inbuild functions. For example, you can use this logic:

If IsNull*<Field-Name>) = 1 Then space(<Length of the Field>) Else <Field>.. This will work.

Regards
Amitava
amsh76
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 10:58 pm

Post by amsh76 »

But amitava, first you need to read the file before you apply any NullHandling function.
Post Reply