Generating Alphanumeric sequence using DS

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

tan1111
Participant

Generating Alphanumeric sequence using DS

Post by tan1111 »

Dear All,
I have a requirement of generating a alphanumeric sequence which looks like AA,AB...AZ,A0,A1...A9,BA...BZ,B0...B9...up to 99 where all the alphabets become 9.
So basically the 2nd character increases and when it becomes Z the number is reset to 0 and it goes on until 9, and then the 1st char increase one character and so on.
I hope I could explain the flow of the sequence. I need some ideas on how to implement such thing using Data stage as I am pretty new to the tool.
Thanks
FranklinE
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by FranklinE »

Your sequence is what Excel uses to name columns, with the addition by you of the letter-numeral sequence between the end of one set and the beginning of the next.

I would question that addition. It breaks the pattern of the letter sequence.

Anyway, I don't know what algorithm Excel uses for its column headers, but it shouldn't be that difficult to work out a formula that represents base-26, meaning you have 26 "digits" to run through in each numeral position. I suppose it would then be possible to insert the letter-numeral section.

The simple, inelegant method is to create a table with the sequence, and read it. No extra coding other than to keep track of where you are in the table.
Franklin Evans
"Shared pain is lessened, shared joy increased. Thus do we refute entropy." -- Spider Robinson

Using mainframe data FAQ: viewtopic.php?t=143596 Using CFF FAQ: viewtopic.php?t=157872
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by qt_ky »