subqueries are currently not supported as tables - Oracle C

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
edward_m
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:34 am
Location: Philadelphia,PA

subqueries are currently not supported as tables - Oracle C

Post by edward_m »

I was trying to use SELECT statement with subqueries as table in oracle connector stage and its giving error says
invalid property value
, does anyone has any clue how to use SELECT statement with subquries used in oracle connector stage.

My SELECT statement looks something like this..

Code: Select all

SELECT 
      A.*,
      B.*
 FROM 
      (SELECT 
             C.COL1 COL1,
             C.COL2,
             C.COL3
       FROM C) A,
       (SELECT 
              D.COL1 COL1,
              D.COL2,
              D.COL3
        FROM D) B
 WHERE A.COL1=B.COL1
Thanks in advance.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Is it because COL1 appears twice in the SELECT clause?

Can you execute this query from sqlplus or some other client?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
edward_m
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:34 am
Location: Philadelphia,PA

Post by edward_m »

Not seeing any issue with Query when i execute from sqlplus.

Thanks
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

So... "subqueries are currently not supported as tables" came from you as what you think might be the issue or was that actually reported by the connector? If your entire error is "invalid property value" then I would wager it has nothing to do with the SQL itself but rather some other property in the stage that you have not set properly.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
edward_m
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:34 am
Location: Philadelphia,PA

Post by edward_m »

This error actually reported by connector when I enter this SQL in select statement Query field in connector properties.
Thanks.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

OK... then it's not supported and it would seem you'll need to rewrite it so it doesn't use those inline views. They're not really needed and just add an unnecessary level of complexity since all you are doing is:

Code: Select all

SELECT C.COL1, C.COL2, C.COL3, D.COL1, D.COL2, D.COL3
FROM C, D
WHERE C.COL1 = D.COL1
Of course, you did say that what you posted looks "something like this" which means all bets are off as to what you are actually doing. And you really should alias all of those columns.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply