orchadmin Path

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
dsdoubt
Participant
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:17 am

orchadmin Path

Post by dsdoubt »

Hi,

Iam trying to access orchadmin command from command prompt.


It gives the following error.

Code: Select all

##E TFPA 000021 $APT_CONFIG_FILE was not set, and config.apt was not found in the working directory or in $APT_ORCHHOME/etc.
##F TFCF 000009 Fatal Error: Cannot continue without a configuration file.
I think I need to set up some parameter somewhere. But I dont know where.
Could anyone help me for this.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Typically that would be accomplished by sourcing your dsenv file:

Code: Select all

cd $DSHOME
. ./dsenv
And then trying the command.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
crouse
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 12:59 pm
Contact:

Post by crouse »

usually, but for orchadmin you need a couple extra env variables not in the typical dsenv...

I have this in my .bash_profile specifically for orchadmin, what you need is similar...

. /appl/Ascential/DataStage/DSEngine/dsenv
PATH=$PATH:/appl/Ascential/DataStage/PXEngine/bin
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/appl/Ascential/DataStage/PXEngine/lib
export PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
APT_CONFIG_FILE=/appl/Ascential/DataStage/Configurations/default.apt
export APT_CONFIG_FILE
Craig Rouse
Griffin Resouces, Inc
www.griffinresources.com
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

OK, but any reason why they shouldn't be in the dsenv file as well? :?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
crouse
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 12:59 pm
Contact:

Post by crouse »

I think they could safely be added to the dsenv.... I'd make sure the PATH and LIB are appended to the end so as not to interfere with pathing that DataStage likes for the dsenv (may not be an issue, but safer).

One may have a particular preference for a config file. If set in dsenv and everyone sources dsenv in order run orchadmin, then they all get the same config file while on that server. Not a big issue either, they can always override it in their user account profile.

Plus, sourcing dsenv just to run orchadmin MAY be overkill or wrong for that account... database parms come to mind.

Setting them in the profile is a bit safer, more customizable.
Craig Rouse
Griffin Resouces, Inc
www.griffinresources.com
dsdoubt
Participant
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:17 am

Post by dsdoubt »

Thanks course.
After exporting Lib path it worked. I guess it was never in dsenv nor in .profile.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

The issue may simply have been that orchadmin was executed by an interactive user, not a DataStage process. DataStage processes automatically execute dsenv; interactive users have to remember to do so.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
crouse
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 12:59 pm
Contact:

Post by crouse »

The poster initially said he/she was running orchadmin from the command line.
Also, sourcing dsenv isn't necessary in order to run orchadmin, since a "standard" dsenv doesn't include the PX load lib, nor a config file.

At a minimum, only load lib and config file need be set.
Craig Rouse
Griffin Resouces, Inc
www.griffinresources.com
Post Reply