Page 1 of 1

Sequence - not triggering to the next stage

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 10:57 pm
by SURA
Hello All

Newly developed Project, just migrated to PROD. As a part of the Master Sequence, it trigger a PowerShell script using Execute Command Activity stage. Triggers is unconditional and was running fine for a day. All of the sudden in the Datastage server , it seems the IT management guys might have pushed the new security policy which block the script to execute.

But I am not sure why the Datastage process is waiting for ever in this stage?

My expectation is , Datastage should go the next stage to trigger the next step.

please correct me , if my understanding is not right?

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 11:34 pm
by chulett
So... hard to follow your explanation but it sounds like the script is hanging rather than the unconditional trigger not 'firing' or the script not executing. It can't move on until the script starts and completes in some fashion. That or fails to start. Starts and never ends? Forever wait.

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 11:54 am
by SURA
Sorry for not explaining it properly, though your understood correctly.

I thought this stage bring the trigger status back irrespective of Success or failure.

Anyhow thanks.

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 6:12 pm
by chulett
It will "bring the trigger status back irrespective of Success or failure" but the command being processed must end first.

Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 12:22 am
by SURA
Are you taking about the command output / return value / command name?

Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:18 am
by chulett
:?

I'm not talking about anything in particular other than the fact that for the trigger (any trigger ) to have something to evaluate - and for it to possibly 'fire' and allow the job to move on to the next stage - whatever the current stage is doing must complete first. Period. I'm not really sure how else to phrase that.

From what you are saying, your Powershell script is now hanging. This is not all that unusual with scripts. If they get into a situation where they need user interaction, they prompt for confirmation of some action let's say, not running in 'interactive' mode there's no-one there to answer, so it waits. Forever. Or could just be well and truly hung because of your aforementioned security policy change.

Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 6:12 pm
by SURA
Thanks Criag.

I have modified the executing command to bypass the policy and it is working now as expected.

Thank you so much for your guidance.

Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:50 am
by johnboy3
SURA,
Can you please be more specific? What exactly did you do differently to fix this?
john3

Posted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:51 pm
by SURA

Code: Select all

Powershell.exe -noprofile -executionpolicy bypass -File 
I have included the above options which allowed the Datastage to trigger the script and moved to the next step.