Running DS job command line with multi value file param set

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
mydsworld
Participant
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:55 am

Running DS job command line with multi value file param set

Post by mydsworld »

I need to run a DS job from command line. The job uses param set with multiple value files. In that case what would be the '-param' argument.

For example - if the param set 'pS1' has value file names pS1_VF1, pS1_VF2, pS1_VF3 so on.

what would be the '-param' arguments in dsjob command.

Thanks.
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

Consider each parameter to be a string, so in your case the parameter value would be "pS1_VF1, pS1_VF2, pS1_VF3". You would now parse this string by comma-separated tokens into the distinct components and process the values.

Or did you have something else mind?
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

If you want to choose a values file, name just the Parameter Set

Code: Select all

 -param pS1=VF2
If you need to override the default value of a specific parameter in the Parameter Set, use "dot notation".

Code: Select all

-param pS1.ControlFile=/data/Controls/weekend.ctl
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
mydsworld
Participant
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:55 am

Post by mydsworld »

So, can I invoke the DS job for each of the param set value file like this below.

- param pS1 = pS1_VF1
- param pS1 = pS1_VF2
- param pS1 = pS1_VF3
so on

?
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

We are focusing on different methods of "how" to solve a question, but perhaps it might be best to explain "what" you wish to do in your job with these parameters and a better solution might present itself.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

mydsworld wrote:So, can I invoke the DS job for each of the param set value file like this below.

- param pS1 = pS1_VF1
- param pS1 = pS1_VF2
- param pS1 = pS1_VF3
so on

?
Only one values file name per dsjob command but, otherwise, yes.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Without the space between the dash and 'param' of course.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply