import data from excels

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
roshanearly
Participant
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:55 am
Location: bangalore

import data from excels

Post by roshanearly »

i need to process excels
which i have converted to csv and trying to import using sequential file

The data in excel is in form of 2-d tables .how can it be processed
It is also needed to pick some specific fields from the csv , can this be done somehow like we pick fields using tags in xml
ROSHAN
SURA
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:16 am
Location: Sydney

Re: import data from excels

Post by SURA »

Can you give some example? The way how i under stood is like below! Is it correct?

Code: Select all

     	1961        1962        1963        1964
USA      a           x            g           y
But you need the output like this?

Code: Select all

Country      Year       Value
USA          1961       a
USA          1962       x
USA          1963       g
USA          1964       y
Thanks
Ram
----------------------------------
Revealing your ignorance is fine, because you get a chance to learn.
roshanearly
Participant
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:55 am
Location: bangalore

Re: import data from excels

Post by roshanearly »

yes almost
ROSHAN
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Specify more precisely and we may be able to respond more precisely. We do not like wasting time guessing.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

So we're not discussing 'importing' Excel data but rather reading a .csv flat file that happened to come from Excel. OK, fine... but as noted you'll need to provide specific details about your requirements - examples of both your input data and what you need your output to look like would be an excellent place to start.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Did you look into Pivot option ?

Will the number of columns be same in all input data ?
Post Reply