connect to datasources issue

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

alexcol
Participant

Post by alexcol »

Good evening.

Im new to Datastage and i wanted to know how to connect to diferent datasorces and targets.

i've been finding out documentation and i know there are 3 main files need for odbc configuration.
i checked out these 3 files in the production system
Then i tried to connect to any of those datasources using the datastage command language (/bin/dssh) i've got an error:

LOGTO sqls_pRDdTMTsQL
"sqls_pRDdTMTsQL" is not a valid account name

or when i use the command ds_connect which list all DSN available but it doesnt show anything because there are no aditional entries in the uvodbc.config file.

i already edited the .odbc.ini file: and ive got the necessary information information like this

[SQLS_PrdDtmtSql]
Driver=/datastage/IBM/InformationServer/Server/branded_odbc/lib/VMmsss23.so
Database=dm1_dabse
LogonID=usr_dwh
Password=usr_dwh_2009
Address=192.168.2.33

maybe im wrong but the question is:
1.using the command language shell /bin/dssh is intented to connect to any datasource or target?
2.if so can i use select statements in the datastage program language
3. which comamnd explicitily i must type to connect to the datbase dm1_database with the information provided in the .odbc.ini file
Id appreciate your help, thanks
ALEJO
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

LOGTO is used to connect to an internal Project (aka 'account') not an external ODBC datasource. To test out your ODBC connections you really should be using a DataStage job and one of the ODBC stages rather than any 'command language' or activities at the TCL prompt.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

1. Not correct, though the DS_CONNECT test utility is used from this environment.