istool syntax

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

just4geeks
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 644
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 3:59 pm
Location: Mclean, VA

Post by just4geeks »

Thanks a ton asorrell for such a useful post!
This helped me a lot!
Attitude is everything....
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Encrypt password

Post by ray.wurlod »

smosalakanti wrote:thank you for the details on the utility "istool". Is it possible to encrypt password ?
This is possible in version 8.7. You can also (in 8.7) use an -authfile option to specify a file containing authentication information - the password can be encrypted there also.
IBM provides encrypt.bat to encrypt using AES-128, but you can substitute your own encryption technology - it's all documented.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
pandeesh
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1399
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:15 am
Location: CHENNAI, TAMIL NADU

Post by pandeesh »

probal wrote:@asorrell:: As you have pointed out earlier that if the password contains '$' a backslash needs to be infront of it.

I don't think it is needed.I'm using a password that contains a '$' and without the '/' it is working fine for me.
It's actually '\' and not '/' and i believe you are enclosing your password within double quotes "password$"(in case of special characters either you should use '\'or enclose whole password within double quotes)
pandeeswaran
fmou
Participant
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 9:48 pm

Post by fmou »

I believe single quote will work for special characters like '$', etc.

@asorrell, Thanks a billion for such a useful post!
I was about to dig myself.
Thanks for the tremendous time-saving I can have.
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:16 am
Location: USA

Re: Encrypt password

Post by qt_ky »

ray.wurlod wrote:IBM provides encrypt.bat to encrypt using AES-128, but you can substitute your own encryption technology - it's all documented.
Yes, in 8.7 you can encrypt the password and more. Some more details: if you're on UNIX or Linux then you can use the encrypt.sh command. The Administration Guide has details under the Encrypt command section. Happy encrypting!
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
pandeesh
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1399
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:15 am
Location: CHENNAI, TAMIL NADU

Re: Encrypt password

Post by pandeesh »

qt_ky wrote:Yes, in 8.7 if you're on UNIX or Linux then you can use the encrypt.sh command.
Is this in built?
pandeeswaran
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Yes.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
devidotcom
Participant
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 6:38 am
Location: Hyderabad

Export only certain jobs in different DataStage folder

Post by devidotcom »

Hi,

The post had detailed explanation. Thank you.

I was looking for a command where I could export certain set of jobs to one isx file. These jobs could exist in different folders in DataStage project.

Your help is appreciated.

Thank you
asorrell
Posts: 1707
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 2:00 pm
Location: Colleyville, Texas

Post by asorrell »

The istool command doesn't give you a means to selectively backup jobs from multiple projects. You could create a temporary project, drag and drop the jobs into that one project using the Manager, and then back them up.

Also - please note I did make edits in main post at end...
Andy Sorrell
Certified DataStage Consultant
IBM Analytics Champion 2009 - 2020
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Is there a server side compile yet? We use istool to migrate jobs. Sometimes we need to force compile a job when source server and target server different hardware.
Mamu Kim
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

The engine-side compile should be dscc
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Thanks Ray.
Mamu Kim
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

I could not find dscc on the UNIX servers.
Mamu Kim
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

My bad. dscc is the client-side command line compiler.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
vamsi_4a6
Participant
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:06 am

Re: istool syntax

Post by vamsi_4a6 »

Code: Select all

./istool export -domain serviceshost:9080 -authfile /home/dsadm/.authfile -silent -archive /backups/projectname.isx -datastage "-incdep -base=ENGINEHOST/Dev_Project */*.*"

I have to do backup for entire project but not sure what vale i need to pass for -base flag.Any help on this?I have jobs in Multiple categories
Post Reply