data cleansing

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

harithay
Participant

data cleansing

Post by harithay »

i am new to datastage ,

i know defintion of data cleansing, but how we perfrom this in real time datastage projects, can anybody explain with some examples?
Alexandre
Participant

Post by Alexandre »

You don't have data cleaning facility in Datastage, for this, take a look at QualityStage...

But, in Datastage you can do "Data Quality", ie. analysis of your data in order to produce reports (unicity, count, etc. ...) and apply business rules (in transformer, based on routines or using reference) and eventually take decision based on those results...

Anyway, it is just data transformation, like the T in ETL...
kommven
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by kommven »

I can give you a simple definition for Data Cleansing. Its like Querying your DBMS with select col names so that you wont get unwanted data.

Data Cleansing it at various levels at the least grain size is at row which can be achvd. by using simple Transformer job.
At the highest level is at an aggregated grain size which is possible by using a aggregator.

Even in Source or target stage also you can specific the specific columns you are interested in.

I appreciate someone, comment on this.

Kommu
vmcburney
Participant

Post by vmcburney »

Most data cleansing in DataStage is done through a transformer or a QualityStage plugin.

In a transformer cleansing is performed through BASIC code, constraints or lookups.
- BASIC code lets you convert the data, for example trimming blanks, checking a text field for a valid date and converting it to internal date format, removing invalid characters etc. Almost any cleansing business rule can be written in BASIC code.