LOOK UP PERFORMANCE TUNING WITH A BIG SQL SERVER TABLE

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

sql.alp
Premium Member
Premium Member

LOOK UP PERFORMANCE TUNING WITH A BIG SQL SERVER TABLE

Post by sql.alp »

HI GUYS!
i thank you all even now for your responses!
i am fairly new to DS, and i am having issue with a job that checks the existing data in a SQL SERVER 3 table joins. (A, b,c) only one of the table is big sized (A). and there is very small table in NETEZZA (nz). i need to insert/update a field in A by nz. All values in nz need to be upd/ins to A. in order to do that i need to check existance of nz.date field in A.date. i thought look up would be a good choice to do that. Im sure you all know what kind of misery i had by matching date values btwn NZ to SQL server.
my problem is:
because A has some size +joins +converting date field +sql server performance :), the look up query takes some time even though nz is a very small able (=sometimes max 300 rows mostly less), and sql server times out. at the end i get error saying "socket unplugged to ODBC server"
SO I NEED TO FIND A WAY TO MAKE MY LOOK UP MORE EFFICIENT!
i am open for any ideas.
and i thank you all!
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

Are the joins supported by indexes? Is the lookup field indexed?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
sql.alp
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by sql.alp »

Thx for the response so quick,