Page 1 of 1

Pin 2 not initialised error

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:53 am
by roshanearly
Problem description
1) We are having a sample job which will read from sequential file and
insert a row to database(using DB2 connector stage). This database is a
remote database. When we are running the job using dsjob command it is
failing with error "PIN2 not initialized". PIN2 is DB2Connector stage
in our job.

We are using AIX6.1 server and trying to deploy over VPN

log:-
Event Id: 70
Time : Sat Oct 13 05:02:39 2012
Type : WARNING
User : root
Message :
DBFILEDEPLOY..DB2_Connector_6.IDENT1: Pin 2 not initialized
Event Id: 71
Time : Sat Oct 13 05:02:39 2012
Type : WARNING
User : root
Message :
DBFILEDEPLOY..DB2_Connector_6: Pin 2 not initialized
Event Id: 72
Time : Sat Oct 13 05:02:39 2012
Type : WARNING
User : root
Message :
DBFILEDEPLOY..DB2_Connector_6.DSLink2: DSP.Close Error -100 in
$DSP.Close.

our dsenv file config is-
DB2DIR=/opt/IBM/db2/V9.7;export DB2DIR
DB2INSTANCE=db2inst1;export DB2INSTANCE
INSTHOME=/home/db2inst1;export INSTHOME
DB2PATH=/opt/IBM/db2/V9.7/bin
export DB2PATH
PATH=$PATH:$INSTHOME/sqllib/bin:$INSTHOME/sqllib/adm:$INSTHOME/sqllib/misc
export PATH
LIBPATH=`dirname $DSHOME`/branded_odbc/lib:`dirname $DSHOME`/DSComponents/lib:`dirname $DSHOME`/DSComponents/bin:$DSHOME/lib:$DSHOME/uvdlls:`dirname $DSHOME`/PXEngine/lib:$ASBHOME/apps/jre/lib/ppc64:$ASBHOME/apps/jre/lib/ppc64/j9vm:$ASBHOME/lib/cpp:$ASBHOME/apps/proxy/cpp/aix-all-ppc_64:$DB2PATH:$INSTHOME/sqllib/lib:$DB2INSTANCE:$DB2DIR:$INSTHOME:$PATH:$LIBPATH
export LIBPATH
THREADS_FLAG=native;export THREADS_FLAG

Re: Pin 2 not initialised error

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:27 am
by chulett
roshanearly wrote:When we are running the job using dsjob command it is failing with error "PIN2 not initialized".
Question - does this imply that you do not get the error if you run the job from the Director? :?

Regardless - "IDENT1" is a transformer that the compiler added to your job between your two passive stages, which I'm guessing is all your job contains. I've found that odd problems like this can often be solved by simply adding the transformer yourself, even if all it does it pass along all columns unmolested.

Re: Pin 2 not initialised error

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:41 am
by roshanearly
chulett wrote:Question - does this imply that you do not get the error if you run the job from the Director? :?
No we are unable to open the director so we can't see what's hapenning over there

while trying to open director i am getting error"request time out:810015"

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:46 am
by chulett
OK, that's a conversation for another post.

Did you try adding a Transformer?

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:59 am
by roshanearly
Yes we tried but no luck...still getting "pin 2 not initialized error"

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:07 am
by roshanearly
we are able to run the same job on windows server but unable to do so on aix server

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:15 am
by ArndW
Are you still seeing the word "IDENT1" in your job with a transform stage?

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:27 am
by roshanearly
Nop instead of IDENT1 we are getting "TRANSFORMER STAGE1:Pin 2 not initialized"

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:44 am
by ray.wurlod
How many links connect to the Transformer stage and what function does each perform (for example stream input, reference input, stream output, reject output)?

A "pin" is a connection between a link and a stage. Pins are numbered from zero, so the problem is likely to be in the third link that was attached to the stage during the design process. Have you, for example, specified an output link variable for a link that no longer exists in the design? Was there perhaps a third link that no longer exists in the design?

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:49 pm
by chulett
roshanearly wrote:Nop instead of IDENT1 we are getting "TRANSFORMER STAGE1:Pin 2 not initialized"
Which is to be expected if this didn't solve the problem as now the transformer has a name. Odd that it didn't change at all as it seems like you would need to drop and re-establish all of the links between the source and target in order to do that. :?

As Ray asked, can you detail the links in your job? Verify for us what exactly your job looks like now so we can attempt to determine the "third link" that is your Pin 2.

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 2:39 am
by roshanearly
Actually the problem is that we are able to run the same job in our production environment(windows server)we are not able to run any job involving db2 connection the problem is with db2 connection please guide us how to solve this connection issue with db2.We tried to make a new job and re import it too but its still showing the same thing we tried db2-udb and db2-api both all are having same.

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 2:46 am
by roshanearly
First link is sequential file>>>second link is transformer where column is mapped>>>Third link is Db2udb tried Db2api too....

Another job i tired is
Sequential file >>>Db2

third job i tired is
db2>>Sequential file

all are showing pin not initialized error for db2

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 5:17 am
by ArndW
do you also get the error if you write a new job - i.e. no cut-and-paste or save-as from the old job?

If yes, then you have a problem which most likely cannot be solved here in this forum but needs to be addressed by your support provider. On the positive side, you would seem to have a reproduceable test case.

Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:39 am
by chulett
With this additional information, I'm going to agree with Arnd that you need to put this in front of your official support provider.